Food · Singapore

A Normal Day at NUS

May 31, 2016

This morning, I woke up to a beautiful sunrise! My room is on the 15th floor of the dorm, and dang I can see so much from the window…the pool is especially tempting, since the weather here in Singapore is hot and humid.

IMG_2885.jpg
View from my room

For breakfast, I had my usual kopi peng (iced coffee, best thing in Singapore), but for the actual food I switched it up from the usual kaya toast + eggs combo and got a big pau (huge pork bun) and something called a Shanghai pao. I’ve never had Shanghai pau before, so might as well try it, you know?

IMG_2887
Big Pau (left) and Shanghai Pau (right)

Big pau rating: 4/5. I’ve had better salapao (what these are called in Thai), but this one is pretty decent. The egg was good, and the pork wasn’t too salty as it is in some other salapaos.

Shanghai pau rating: 2.5/5. It was eh…I didn’t know that it would be a fried smaller version of the big pau. I wasn’t too impressed by the Shanghai pau, because I’m not the biggest fan of fried buns, and this bun was especially oily. I wouldn’t get this again, but it was worth a try.

In lab, Shar and I continued doing Objective C tutorials by watching more Stanford lecture videos. Since last week, we’ve been working our way through the first 8 lectures of a class about programming iOS apps on Xcode. The lecturer is pretty good, but without homework or something, I haven’t really been absorbing the material.

Today was also the weekly lab meeting for our lab! Prof Tay finally told Shar and I what we were supposed to do for our respective projects. My project title is “Detecting the Freezing of Gait in Parkinson’s Disease Patients.” I’ve know the title for a while, but wasn’t sure what to do with it.

For the next week or so, I’m to modify an existing code for a LidarLite Sensor, so that it starts a timer when someone (like a PD patient) walks in front of it, and stops a timer when the PD patient walks in front of it again. It’s pretty cool stuff, and I’m excited to work on it.

For lunch, I tried some Indonesian chicken and fish plate. It was yummy 🙂

IMG_2888
Indonesian food

After lab, I decided to stay in UTown and just chill in CAPT, rather than go out and explore again. Tomorrow I’m going to a karaoke thing, so that’ll be fun!

Also, check out my “Food in Singapore” page! I’ve added it to the menu sidebar thing, and my goal is to work my way down that list and try every food. I’ve got a little under two months, so I think I can do this!

Leave a Reply

