Food · Singapore

Food + Friends

Hi everyone! Sorry for the lack of updates the past few days, but I’ve been a bit busy.

The past few days, not one, but TWO of my friends at school came to visit Singapore!

On Tuesday (June 14), I ate dinner with my Hopkins BME-best bud Linh, another BME friend Tam, and Linh’s family. We ate at Sushi Tei on Orchard Road, and daaaaang the food (especially the sashimi) was DELICIOUS. Linh’s sister especially enjoyed the salmon sashimi, and she made her joy known to our table every time she took a bite. Her sister is hilarious and loves food, so therefore I love her. The dinner went by way too quickly, and afterwards Linh’s mom treated all of us to bubble tea at Gong Cha, a really good boba chain.

IMG_3202
The only non-blurry we-fie we took with my selfie stick!

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the food we had at Sushi Tei. But believe me, it was really really good! I ordered of my childhood favorites- katsu curry. The curry was very rich, and there were plenty of carrots, potatoes, and onions to complement the pork katsu. I would definitely order it again in a heartbeat.

For the rest of this week, my friend Hailey is visiting Singapore! Hailey and I have been friends since way back in high school, and she actually goes to a college less than two miles from mine. During this past school year, we would go out to eat at least once a month. Through this, we were able to explore many different restaurants in Baltimore (especially during Baltimore Restaurant Week). Next year, we plan on continuing this delicious tradition, basically eating our way through B’more. She’s my best food-friend (bff) !

Last night (June 15), Hailey and I went to Tim Ho Wan, which is a Chinese dimsum restaurant chain. It’s really famous, and my mom has been telling me to try it ever since I came to Singapore. We went to the Tim Ho Wan located at Westgate in Jurong East. At the restaurant, we tried five dishes and paid less than $25 for all of it. Cheap tasty food is the best food!

IMG_2039
Hi Hailey! feat. random lady in the back

After we ate at Tim Ho Wan, I took Hailey to Toast Box. Toast Box is a café chain in Singapore, specializing in (you guessed it) toast. When I last came to Singapore, there was a Toast Box in the Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands, which was located adjacent to our hotel, so my family went there many times for breakfast.

At Toast Box, Hailey and I ordered kaya thick toast, pork floss thick toast, iced Milo (a really good chocolate drink), and sparkling lychee drink. Hailey has never tried pork floss nor kaya before last night. She said she really enjoyed the pork floss and kaya!

IMG_2045
Yummy yum yum Toast Box

Tonight (June 16), Hailey and I continued our food adventure by eating at Din Tai Fung at the Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands! Din Tai Fung is one of the best places to get xiao long bao, which is a steamed soup dumpling. The first time I ever tried Din Tai Fung was actually at the very same location we went to tonight. Other than Singapore, I’ve also been to Din Tai Fung in Bangkok.

The xiao long bao at Din Tai Fung is TO DIE FOR, and the dou miao (pea shoots) are actually the best vegetables ever. We had to wait about 20 minutes for our table, and 20 more minutes for our food, but it was so worth it.

Afterwards, Hailey and I went to Llaollao, a frozen yogurt place. Hailey and I both got Sanum there. Sanum is a Llaollao specialty- it’s three layers of fruit with two kinds of granola/crunchy thing, topped with frozen yogurt. I got a coconut white chocolate sauce on top of that too!

IMG_3240

YUM, the food in Singapore is delicious!

Hungry for more? Check out my Food in Singapore page!

 

Leave a Reply

