Singapore

Here Be Dragons

In the residential areas Toa Payoh (pronounced toh-pie-oh, not toe-ah-pie-yo like I thought) and Ang Mo Kio, there used to be many dragon themed playgrounds. Built in the 1980s by the Housing and Development Board (HDB), these playgrounds are unique and good places to take pictures for Instagram.

Unfortunately due to safety concerns, many of these playground were demolished in the 1990s and 2000s. The only dragon playground with its original sand-based ground is located at Blk 28 Toa Payoh Lorong 6, a very short bus ride from the Toa Payoh MRT station. It’s also the most impressive of the still-standing dragon playgrounds. Other than this one, there are only two or three dragon playgrounds left standing, though those have rubber-based floors.

IMG_3661.jpg
Where are my dragons?

I went with my friend Amy to take some pictures at this landmark and to relax after a long day of lab.

To get up to the dragon head, there is a small ladder you can climb.

IMG_3674
Amy on the ladder

If you don’t want to climb up the ladder, but woul rather take the scenic route, you can also climb up the dragon’s “body.”

IMG_3676
Me going up the dragon

And yay! The top of the dragon is a nice vantage point. It’s not as good as actually riding dragons, but close enough.

IMG_3700
I may not be a mother of dragons like Daenerys, but I can pretend I’m a dragon instead.

To get down, I slid down the slide behind the dragon.

IMG_3670
Not as fun as it looks- I’m trying not to fall.

I was surprised that there were no kids at the playground, but it did make for better pictures. Tomorrow is Eid (end of Ramadan), and lab is closed. I’ll probably go on another solo adventure (my last full day solo adventure in Singapore), so I’ve got to make this count!

Leave a Reply

